Beck Michaels is a New Favorite

Divine Blood had been recommended to me around Bookstagram thanks to some wonderful bookish friends, and I am so glad I finally picked up this book. Beck Michaels delivers everything I love in a swoony YA fantasy: fantastic world-building, interesting characters, great dialogue, and a sweet, slow-burn romance.

I LOVED THIS BOOK. Divine Blood opens with Dyna, a young healer who has lost everything. She decides to go on a journey to try to save her village from a terrible threat from a shadow demon. Along the way, she meets handsome prince Cassiel, a Celestial. Cassiel is distant and rude until he realizes that Dyna may be the key to reaching a destination he has been searching for his entire life. Their lives may be entwined in ways that neither of them expects.

Divine Blood is packed with magical creatures and interesting characters, and each is more compelling than the last. Every character is believable and complex. There are angels, fae, werewolves, vampires, demons, sorcerers, and more. While Divine Blood does end on something of a cliffhanger, I found it to be a very satisfying ending that just made me really excited to read the next book.

I can’t recommend it highly enough for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Laura Thalassa, Holly Black, Raven Kennedy, and Sarah J Maas.

Book two, Bonded Fate, is out on August 3. I can’t wait to see where Michaels takes us next on this journey.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s